Germany, Switzerland, Austria

Arnon Grünberg

Blauer Montag (1997)
Statisten (1999)
Phantomschmerz (2003)
Der Vogel ist krank (2005)
Gnadenfrist (2006)
Der Heilige des Unmöglichen (2007)
Tirza (2008)
Mitgenommen (2010)
Mit Haut und Haaren (2012)
Der jüdische Messias (2013)
Der Mann, der nie krank war (2014)
Muttermale (2016)

Marek van der Jagt

Amour fou (2002)
Monogam (2003)

Close X

Amour fou

ISBN 3-257-06311-3/3-257-23366-3(paperback)
Publisher Diogenes, Zürich
Original title De geschiedenis van mijn kaalheid (2000)
Year 2002
Country Germany, Switzerland, Austria
Language German
Translator Rainer Kersten


The Story of My Baldness

A Viennese philosophy student Marek van der Jagt tells the story of his quest for l’amour fou. Van der Jagt leads us past a grotesque of characters: his stepmother Eleonore, author of the best-selling How Old Women Can Get Rich; Otto, the Dry Cleaning King of Vienna and the man who holds the key to Marek’s past; the nubile and willing Luxemburgers, Andrea and Milena, who uncover Marek’s darkest secret; Professor Hirschfeld, the collector of criminal dreams; Dr. Ahorn, the plastic surgeon without solutions; and, last but not least, Marek’s own promiscuous mother, who ‘lived to elicit desire the way other people live for their children or to become millionaires…’

Read a chapter in English here.

[ Diogenes ]


Diogenes, 2013. Edition with an introduction by Daniel Kehlmann.



The theatre version of Amour Fou was played at the Jewish Cultural Festival in Berlin in April 2003. Another adaptation for the stage was played in Berlin at the Glashaus on November 18th 2006, directed by Walter Meierjohann.

Click to play movie

Close X